Rainer Mahlamäki to be awarded the Prince Eugen Medal for ‘outstanding artistic achievement’


Rainer Mahlamäki has been selected to receive the Prince Eugen Medal for ‘outstanding artistic achievement’ – a highly prestigious award given by the Swedish royal family. Rainer will have the honour of being awarded the medal by the King of Sweden himself, HM Carl XVI Gustaf and in the presence of Queen Silvia of Sweden.


Mahlamäki will join an exclusive list of some of the Nordic region’s most respected and prestigious architects including Jörn Utzon, Sverre Fehn and Finnish architectural legend Alvar Aalto – it has been 13 years since the medal was last awarded to a Finnish Architect.


Lahdelma & Mahlamäki Architects, which Rainer co-founded with long-term architectural partner Ilmari Lahdelma in 1997, has long been contributing to the architectural landscape and education within Finland and the Nordic region. Recently, with larger projects internationally, the practice has also been taking their inherently Finnish design approach abroad to project the Nordic image onto a larger stage.


It is a highly prestigious honour to receive this award, and all who work at Lahdelma & Mahlamäki Architects would like to offer a huge ‘congratulations’ to Rainer for his achievements and for his years of contributions to Finnish architecture and education.


The list of recipients for this year’s award is short and exclusive. Rainer will receive the award alongside: Artist John-Erik Franzén; Sculptor Eva Hild; Artist Jockum Nordström; Finnish designer Eero Aarnio; and Norwegian sculptor Siri Aurdal. The medals will be given on Friday 17th November at 14:00.


The Prince Eugen Medal was founded by King Gustaf V in 1945 as a celebration of the Prince’s 80th anniversary. Since then it has been awarded annually to a select few across the Nordic countries who have shown particular dedication to the arts within the region. Finnish cultural legends on the list include: artist and sculptor Wäinö Aaltonen (1894-1966); Eija-Liisa Ahtila, the contemporary visual artist and filmmaker; artist and art critic Sigrid Schauman (1877-1979), sculptor Kain Tapper (1930-2004); and designer Vuokko Nurmesniemi.


Photo by Aleksi Poutanen